Third Generation Partnership Project 2 (3GPP2) TSG-X Meeting Summary February 17 - 21, 2003 Los Angeles, CA

Quorum List, Individual Members and Organizational Partners Present

IM, SDO, MRP	Representative
1. Alltel	D. Gentzler
2. Bridgewater Systems Corporation	A. Lior
3. Cisco Systems, Inc.	P. Yegani
4. CommWorks, A 3Com Company	M.Borella
5. Comverse	L. Levkovitz
6. DoCoMo US Labs	S. Crowley
7. dynamicsoft Inc.	D. Willis
8. Ericsson	N. Bishai for S. Anctil
9. Fujitsu, Limited	J. Shibayama
10. Hitachi, Ltd.	Y. Ishikawa
11. KDDI	C. Barber
12. LG Electronics	H. J. Lee
13. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	B. Kidwell
14. Motorola	C. Ishman
15. NEC	H. Okata
16. Nextel Communications	S. Dennett
17. Nokia	C. Rhoades
18. Nortel Networks	M. Bienn
19. Openwave Systems, Inc.	A. Stebbins
20. Qualcomm	J. Nasielski
21. Research in Motion Corporation	D. Willey
22. Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.	J. Shih
23. SK Telecom	D. Lee
24. SnowShore Networks, Inc.	
25. Sprint PCS	L. Young
26. TSI Telecommunication Services, Inc.	B. Levitan
27. US Cellular	S. Thalanany
28. Verizon Wireless	R. Ephraim
29. ZTE San Diego	R. Bhalla

Others Present

	IM, SDO, MPR, Observer	Representative
1.	ALLTEL	B. Hjelm
2.	AT&T Wireless	P. Musgrove
3.	CNP	J. Wolski
4.	CommFlowResources	G. Pellegrino
5.	Ericsson	L.Madour
6.	Ericsson	E. Sandberg
7.	HP	M. Kelly

8. HP	R. Heldenbrand
9. KDDI	T. Seki
10. LG Electronics	K. Kim
11. LGE	B. K. Yi
12. LG Electronics	F. Kujawski
13. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	M. Torabi
14. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	C. Fitzpatrick
15. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	P. McCann
16. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	F. Alfano
17. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	M. Orsic
18. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	T. Towle
19. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	R. Bunting
20. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	C. Blum
21. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	C. Teising
22. Lucent Technologies, Inc.	T. Jacobson
23. Motorola	A. Farcasanu
24. Motorola	A. Gutierrez
25. Neustar	J. Yu
26. Nokia	T. Nguyenphu
27. Nokia	S.Wilhoff
28. Nokia	E. Tacsik
29. Nortel Networks	K. Chowdhury
30. Nortel Networks	A. Palanigounder
31. Nortel Networks	T. Saboorian
32. Nortel Networks	L. Valerius
33. Openwave Systems, Inc.	J. Hwang
34. Qualcomm	D. Crowe
35. Qualcomm	S. Arcens
36. Qualcomm	R. Gellens
37. Qualcomm	R. Hsu
38. Qualcomm	J. Wang
39. Qualcomm	M. Shirota
40. Samsung Electronics	J. Song
41. Sprint	M.Lipford
42. Sprint	I. Zeng
43. Sprint PCS	L. Dreiling
44. Sprint PCS	S. Manning
45. Sprint PCS	B. Egbert
46. Telcordia	A. Elliott
47. Telcordia	S. Zhang
48. Telcordia	A. Thaper
49. Telecommunication Systems, Inc.	J. Rhodes
50. Verizon Wireless	B. Petti

Opening Plenary:

As this was the first meeting of TSG-X, the group approved a structure for itself based on the output of the SC Ad Hoc on TSG Restructuring. This included the creation of the following four Working Groups.

- WG1 Evolution, Requirements, and Architecture
- WG2 Circuit Switched Network

- WG3 Packet Switched Network
- WG4 Project Management Team

Elections were held for TSG-X Chair and Vice-Chair. Nominations were received as follows.

- Chair: Betsy Kidwell Lucent Technologies
- Vice-Chair: Hee Joung Lee LG Electronics
- Vice-Chair: Jin Shibayama Fujitsu

The Chair and Vice-Chairs were approved by acclamation.

WG Conveners were appointed.

- WG1: Dave Crowe Qualcomm
- WG2: Lee Valerius Nortel Networks
- WG3: Serge Manning Sprint PCS
- WG4: Brian Egbert Sprint PCS

Work items from TSG-N (contribution 15) and TSG-P (contribution 18) were adopted.

WG1:

A written meeting report was provided. There were no plenary actions.

WG2:

An interim meeting schedule was provided for a call on Feb. 25 to plan future Location Based Services meetings. A detailed schedule for the March CSN session was provided.

WG3:

A written meeting report was provided.

The following documents were recommended for SDO Review:

- X.P0013.0 3GPP2 All-IP Core Network Enhancements for Multimedia Domain
- X.P0013.7 IP Multimedia Subsystem Accounting Architecture
- PN-3-0085-311 and PN-3-0085-000A, MMS

The following document was recommended for V&V status:

• X30-20030217-022 API AdHoc R5 N.P0034 [Editor]: Open Service Access (OSA)

The following document was recommended for draft baseline status:

• X30-19 MMS MM1 Stage 3 using SIP

WG4:

The updated workplan and archive files were distributed.

Closing Plenary:

The following document was approved for distribution to IETF prior to the March IETF meeting, pending update and PSN Packet Data Ad Hoc review:

• IETF Draft Dependency Table

The following documents were approved for SDO Review pending a final editorial review:

- X.P0013.0 3GPP2 All-IP Core Network Enhancements for Multimedia Domain
- X.P0013.7 IP Multimedia Subsystem Accounting Architecture
- PN-3-0085-311 and PN-3-0085-000A, MMS

The following document was approved for V&V status:

X30-20030217-022 API AdHoc R5 N.P0034 [Editor]: Open Service Access (OSA) (pending editorial review)

The following document was approved for draft baseline status:

• X30-19 MMS MM1 Stage 3 using SIP

The updated workplan (contribution 03r1) was approved.

Contribution 24 provided draft correspondence to TSG-C with a meeting summary from the joint meeting on Location Based Services. This was remanded back to CSN for further review.

Contribution 27 provided draft correspondence to TSG-C regarding the decision for multiple concurrent C.S0022 sessions. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution 28 provided a response to TSG-S' request for a joint meeting in March to review the Evolution document. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution 29 provided draft correspondence to TSG-S with comments on the Wideband Voice Codec and MEID worksheets. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution 32 provided draft correspondence to TSG-A identifying two agenda items for the joint meeting next month. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution PSN70r1 provided draft correspondence to TSG-C providing information on the required support for MMD. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution PSN70 provided draft correspondence to TSG-S regarding progress on BCMC. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution PMT05 provided draft correspondence to the SC regarding the proposed changes to the publication process. This was approved to send as modified.

Contribution 14r1 provided updates to the TSG-X process descriptions. This was provided for information.

Contribution 20 provided useful information for TSG-X editors. This was provided for information.

It was noted that the OPs had confirmed the Chair and Vice-chairs of TSG-X as were elected in the Opening Plenary.

The WG convenors were thanked for their efforts in getting the WGs off to a successful and productive start. Chairs and Vice-chairs for each WG were appointed as follows.

WG1 ERA: Chair: Dave Crowe, Qualcomm

Vice-Chair: Sebastian Thalanany, US Cellular

WG2 CSN: Chair: Lee Valerius, Nortel Networks

Vice-Chair: Susan Anctil, Ericsson

WG3 PSN: Chair: Serge Manning, Sprint PCS

Vice-Chair: Jerry Shih, Samsung

WG4 PMT: Chair: Brian Egbert, Sprint PCS

Vice-Chair: Fred Kujawski, LG Electronics

Contribution 02r6 containing the updated Interim Meeting Schedule was updated and provided for information.

Contribution 19 providing the 2003 Meeting Schedule was provided for information. Member companies were requested to consider hosting future meetings.

Contribution 21 provided the Agenda and Meeting Schedule for March. This was provided for information.