3GPP2 TSG-A: Access Network Interfaces TSG (TSG-A) #116 Meeting Summary – Interim Plenary Conference Call

DATE:	November 20, 2008	
LOCATION:	Conference Call	
PRESIDING:	George Turnipseed, Sprint Nextel	

OPENING PLENARY

1. TSG Opening Remarks by TSG Chairman – The Access Network Interfaces TSG (TSG-A) meeting was opened on Thursday, November 20, 2008 at 6:05pm Central time by George Turnipseed, TSG-A Chair.

2. Introduction and Attendance Registration: Mr. Turnipseed conducted the roll call of participating Individual Member (IM) companies. 10 of the 13 quorum members responded as present, constituting 77% quorum. Refer to the list of quorum members in the Closing Plenary section [link] for additional details.

Member Participation:

Name	Company	Email	
Nancy Lee	Alcatel-Lucent	nylee@alcatel-lucent.com	
Xin Zhong	Huawei Technologies	zhongxin@huawei.com	
Shunsuke Saito	KDDI	su-saitou@kddi.com	
Toshiya Tanaka	KDDI	oh-tanaka@kddi.com	
Scott Marin	Motorola	s.marin@motorola.com	
Tatsushi Yagi	NEC Corporation	yagi.tt@ncos.nec.co.jp	
Sandy Foster	Nortel	slfoster@nortel.com	
David Ott	Qualcomm	dott@qualcomm.com	
Bill Semper	Samsung	bsemper@sta.samsung.com	
George Turnipseed	Sprint Nextel	george.a.turnipseed@sprint.com	
Wei Wang	ZTE Corporation	ZTE Corporation wang.wei@zte.com.cn	

3. Numbering of Contributions

The following documents were numbered and assigned to the agenda:

Document #	Title	Source	Agenda	Plenary Action/Decision
(20081120-			Item	
xxx)				
001R1	November 20, 2008 Interim Plenary	Chair	4	Approved
	Meeting Agenda and Schedule			
002A	A.S0023-0 v1.0 V&V cvr.doc	R&F Chair	5a	Approved
002B	A.S0023-0 v1.0 WiMAX-HRPD	R&F Chair	5a	Approved
	IOS V&V (Word) .zip			
002C	A.S0023-0 v1.0 WiMAX-HRPD	R&F Chair	5a	Approved for V&V Review;
	IOS V&V PDF			Comments Due 5 January 2009
002D	A.S0023-0 v1.0 R&F Resolved	R&F Chair	5a	Approved
	Comment – PE Notes			
002E	PE Editorial Work - A.S0023-0 v1.0	R&F Chair	5a	Approved
	V&V			
002F	A.S0023-0 v1.0 V&V Comment	R&F Chair	5a	Approved
	Form			

4. Agenda Review & Approval

The Chair referenced document 3GPP2 A00-20081120-001R1 November 20, 2008 Interim Plenary Meeting Notice for the TSG-A agenda. The agenda was approved as modified.

5. Unfinished Business

5a. A.S0023-0 v1.0 V&V Initiation

Contribution A00-20081120-002 represents the V&V-ready text of A.S0023-0 v1.0 – Interoperability Specification (IOS) for High Rate Packet Data (HRPD) Radio Access Network Interfaces and Interworking with World Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX). In particular, -002C the PDF file was approved for V&V review, following a motion by Bill Semper of Samsung and a second by George Turnipseed of Sprint Nextel. V&V comments are due using the comment form found in -002F by January 5, 2009, COB Pacific Time. Note: This V&V close date may be subject to change, depending on the related ballot completion date.

6. Review Assignments

None.

7. Next Meeting Schedule:

Please note the following details regarding the December TSG-A meeting:

December 1-5, 2008 Grand Wailea Hotel 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr. Wailea, HI 96753 USA Phone: +1 808 875 1234/ Reservations: +1 800 888 6100 Cutoff Date: November 1, 2008 Room Rate: Starting at \$185 USD +11.416%

8. Open Discussion

None.

9. Adjournment

The TSG-A November 20, 2008 Interim Plenary was adjourned at 6:22pm Central time on Thursday, November 20, 2008.

At the closing of TSG-A Meeting #116 on Thursday, November 20, 2008, the quorum list included 12 companies. They are listed as follows:

	Company Name	Attended Vancouver (Sep)	Attended Seoul	Attended November 20 Interim Plenary
1	Alcatel-Lucent	#114	#115	#116
2	Alltel			
3	Hitachi	#114	#115	
4	Huawei Technologies	#114	#115	#116
5	KDDI	#114	#115	#116
6	Motorola	#114	#115	#116
7	NEC	#114	#115	#116
8	Nortel Networks	#114	#115	#116
9	Qualcomm	#114	#115	#116
10	Samsung	#114	#115	#116
11	Sprint Nextel	#114	#115	#116
12	Verizon Wireless	#114		
13	ZTE Corporation	#114	#115	#116

*Please note that Alltel will be dropped from the Quorum list following its absence from three consecutive meetings. This will be reflected at the December TSG-A Meeting in Maui.